What: 2018 Annual Gala - Reaching for the Stars!

When: April 7, 2018

Where: Hyatt Regency Downtown

We are so excited to have Auctioneers, Sherri and Mike Hanley!

This year, we will also be having the Spazmatics perform. 

For any questions, please contact Event Manager Kathlee Akers.
If you would like to donate an auction item, please fill out this form or contact Janine Sanborn.




More than 500 guests gathered Friday, March 31, at the Hyatt Regency Downtown to help raise $575,000 for The Center for Hearing and Speech at its 70th Anniversary Sound & Soul Gala.

Honorees for the gala were the 13 people who have served as Chairmen of the Center’s Board of Directors. Recognition also included the Center’s Auxiliary, the Houston Scottish Rite Masons and the Exchange Club of Houston. The Center also remembered prominent figures from its history including Ed Smith, Board Member for more than 30 years, and Frank Webb, major donor and parent of the school’s namesake Melinda Webb.

The elegant evening consisted of a cocktail reception, big board auction, dinner, program and live auction. Guests ended the night dancing to an energetic performance by Dallas-based Emerald City Band.

THANK YOU for making the 2017 Sound & Soul Gala a success!

Click here to view photos from the Gala.


2017 Honorees:

Clay C. Williams Bruce Harrington
Mark E. Ellis Ed Smith
Clayton Carrell Dr. Harold Wood
Maria Oden Duffy R.E. Roberson
John E. McDonald Gunter W. Koetter
Arthur Friedman Herb L. Belle
Pam Brasseux

2017 Gala Honorees (From L to R: John McDonald, Pam Brasseux, Clay Williams, Maria Oden Duffy, Mark Ellis, and Clayton Carrell)

2017 Underwriters:


Opportune LLP
RBC Capital Markets
Michelle and Alan Smith



Jenny and Clay Williams



Judy D. and Charles P. Eaton |
Theresa and Jeff Eaton

EP Energy | Kathy and Brent Smolik | Grace and Clay Carrell Plains All American Pipeline, L.P.
Suzanne and Arthur Friedman Kathy and Wayne Richards
Jes and John Hagale |
The Shackouls Family Foundation
Aimee and Wynne Snoots
Adrienne and Charles Lyons Vinson & Elkins, LLP
John P. McGovern Foundation  



C.Y. Joseph Chang, M.D. FloWorks International
Charles De Lacey | MetroNational Allen and Linnie Howard
Claire and David de Roode |
Lockton Marine and Energy
Lillie Robertson

Stacie and Brad Dunn
Bilinda and Brian Matusek | Schlumberger
Ernst & Young, LLP Emily and Danny Weingeist


Allen | Despot | Mays | Perry |

Susan and David Jones |
Anne Harrington

Bank of Texas Kroger
Bijou Sauvage Clothier Shannon Langrand and Matt Emal
Samantha and Brian Brantley Latham & Watkins
Brasseux | Johnson | Rigney |
VanderPloeg | Wiggins
John J. Lovoi, Jr. DDS
January and Scott Carter Patricia and John McDonald
Crane | Gowell | Haynsworth |
Rosenfeld | Waughtal
Monroe Vos Consulting Group
Lyle Eastham Sendero Midstream
Davis and Glenn Griffin Vorys, Sater, Seymour, and
Pease, LLP
Clay Hoster  


Jim S. Adler & Associates Manny Mones, Jr.
Ceci and Jaime Arreola Holly and Victor Narcisse III, M.D.
| Nermin and Ahmad Saleemi
Debbie and Brian Cody Mary and Charles Peterson
IBC Bank | Elizabeth and Craig Bunk  


A Friend of the Center Wendy and Eric Mattson
Bill Moore Real Estate “One
Moore Sold!”
Carrin Patman
Central Management, Inc. The Reed Foundation
Maria Oden Duffy and Brian Duffy Jeri and Marc Shapiro
Stephen Farley The Vaughn Foundation
Stephanie and Mark Hamilton Reed and Billy Wareing

2017 Gala Chair Committee:

James Bashaw
Pam Brasseux
Amber and Clay Bretches
Elizabeth and Craig Bunk
January and Scott Carter
Becky Crane
Fredell and Robert Deutser
Maria Oden Duff y and Brian Duff y
Tara Eastland
Andrea and Matt Gentle
Laura Herring
Wendy and Jeff Hines
Hon. Martha Jamison
Cathy Smith Jodeit
Susan Harrington Jones
Jo Ruth Kaplan
Bonnie and Larry Likover, M.D.
Janet Lionberger
Adrienne and Charles Lyons
Janette and Randal McDonald
Manny Mones, Jr.
Carrin Patman
Emily Perry
Lee and Steve Rech
Liz Rigney
Allen J. Rogers
Jeri Shapiro
Michelle and Alan Smith
Adair and Craig Stevenson
Laurie VanderPloeg
Reed and Billy Wareing
Harriett and Perry Zivley


For any questions, please contact Event Manager Kathlee Akers.